Tea Party Claims it Has Found 800 Illegal Votes in Just One Mississippi County


Tea Party activists compared the names of people who voted in the Democratic primary on June 3rd and then voted in the Republican runoff last Tuesday.  Mississippi law allows Democrats to vote in the Republican primary, but only if they don’t vote in the Democratic primary.  The Tea Party identified approximately 800 voters in Hind County that voted in both.

There are 82 counties in the state of Mississippi.  McDaniel lost by about 7,000 votes.  That means if they continue finding duplicate voters, they could challenge the results in court.  Here are the ground rules for voting in a runoff election:

Post-Election and Primary Runoff Information

Process for Certifying Election Results in a Party Primary: 

All primary elections in the State of Mississippi are run by the respective state parties. State law requires the transmittal of certified election results to the State Party Executive Committees of the Democratic and Republican Parties.  The State Party Executive Committees compile the certified results from each county and certify their election results.  The Mississippi Secretary of State’s Office does not certify the results of a Primary Election.  The certification is performed by the State Party Executive Committees.  The State Executive Committees have ten (10) days from the date of the election (June 13, 2014) to submit certified results to the Secretary of State’s Office.  The Secretary of State’s Office accepts the certified results by the State Executive Committees on behalf of the State of Mississippi.  (Miss. Code Ann §23-15-599)

Post Election Deadlines:

  • June 10, 2014:  Deadline for voters who did not present acceptable photo identification for the 2014 Primary Election, who had to cast an affidavit ballot, to submit acceptable photo identification to the Circuit Clerk’s Office for their ballot to be counted.  (MS Const. §249-A-(2)(c))
  • June 13, 2014:  Deadline for the State Party Executive Committees to submit certified results to the Secretary of State’s Office.  (Miss. Code Ann §23-15-599)

Post Election Notes: 

  • The Secretary of State’s Office does not have the number of affidavit ballots cast or certified election results in the 2014 Primary Election.  To ascertain the number of affidavit ballots cast in the election, please contact each county.
  • State law requires the counting of absentee ballots to be conducted at the precinct on the night of the election.  Absentee ballots should not be counted after the day of the election.  Only affidavit ballots should be counted after the election.  (Miss. Code Ann §23-15-639)

If there is a Primary Runoff Election:

  • The 2014 Primary Runoff Election will be held on June 24, 2014 (Miss. Code Ann §23-15-305)
  • Polls are open from 7:00 am to 7:00 pm.
  • Citizens must have been registered for the June 3, 2014 Primary Election to be eligible to vote in the June 24, 2014 Primary Runoff Election.
  • If an eligible voter did not participate in the June 3rd Primary Election, the voter may vote in either the Democratic or Republican Primary Runoff.
  • The State of Mississippi does not allow “crossover” voting.  Meaning, if a voter cast a ballot in the Democratic Primary, he/she must cast a ballot in the Democratic Primary Runoff.  If a voter cast a ballot in the Republican Primary, he/she must cast a ballot in the Republican Primary Runoff.  (Miss. Code Ann §23-15-575)

  • Uniformed and Overseas ballots have been transmitted in accordance with State and Federal law.

Not all of McDaniel’s supporters are taking part in the appeals process.  The Club for Growth has accepted the Cochran win and said that the were proud of their campaign for McDaniel.

This could prove dangerous for the Republican party.  Although it’s important to to make sure a race wasn’t won by election fraud, there is the danger that whichever side loses will not support the winner.  That could give the Democrats a chance to steal the seat.  I hope for the good of the state and the country that the Cochran and McDaniel voters support whichever candidate is declared the winner.